The Milk Bar Diaries: Part 1, Crack Pie

January 22, 2013 § Leave a comment

So today I made Crack Pie. Crack Pie. Let me start from the beginning.

Rewind to last Wednesday.

Mom: I’m at Barnes & Noble.

Me: Can you pick me up something? I’ll pay you back.

Mom: Sure, what is it?

Me: Momofuku Milk Bar by Christina Tosi.

I’m dedicating this recipe (and this series) to my mom, because if she didn’t pay for that $35 book (I paid her back), I wouldn’t be writing this post.

This book is by far my most valuable possession. Forget computers, iPads, cell phones, etc. This book is more than a book. It’s a transcendent portal to what I want my future to be.

I’m not going to clammer on about this book. I’m just going to tell you that you need to get $35 and click here.

And because I love this book so much, I’m going to write about every recipe I make from this book and call it The Milk Bar Diaries. Are you as excited as I am?! No? Well then you probably haven’t read this book. Buy the book, read it, and come back so you can answer my question.

Back to Crack Pie.

Crack Pie = a giant oatmeal cookie crushed up for the crust + a rich filling made with heavy cream, brown sugar, butter, egg yolks, milk powder, etc.

So this is by far the most delicious thing I’ve made. Rich, gooey, dense, buttery, sweet. I give myself a pat on the back for making this. And I give Christina Tosi and everyone at Momofuku Milk Bar a standing ovation and a back flip for developing such a delicious thing.

I’m not going to tell you why it’s called Crack Pie. Nor will I post the recipe to this delicious thing because that’s how much I want you to buy this book. I’m sure someone else has posted it on the internet, but I really respect this sacred book and I want you to appreciate in all of its hard cover glory.

More of my Milk Bar adventures to come…

Happy baking,

AW

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Milk Bar Diaries: Part 1, Crack Pie at Accomodare.

meta

