The Milk Bar Diaries: Part 2, Milk Crumb

February 5, 2013 § Leave a comment

One of the many things that drew me to Momofuku Milk Bar and its accompanying book “Milk”, was Christina Tosi’s use of unordinary ingredients to create desserts that still tasted “home-y”. Ingredients like butter, cream, and brown sugar transport you to the kitchen of a mother making pies and cookies and all sorts of wonderful treats from recipes based off of her mother’s mother’s mother.

Tosi is still able to bring you this feeling but with ingredients that make you sort of tilt your head and ask, “Why?” Milk powder? Citric acid? Glucose? Are we making a dessert still or did I accidentally switch this cookbook with my Chemistry book?

Milk crumb is a stable at Momofuku Milk Bar and is used in many of the desserts that the bakery offers. It consists of butter, milk powder, white chocolate, etc. Once again, I’m not going to post the recipe because I really think you should buy the book.

I’m not going to lie, one of its main ingredients kind of sketches me out. Milk powder? I can’t think of a time that I ever used milk powder. What does it taste like? What is it join got make this “milk crumb” taste like?

Before I got to making the milk crumb, I decided in my head that I was going to go as light on the milk crumb as I possibly could. Who knew that a powdered dairy product could bring me so much fear.

But then I thought, “What would Christina Tosi think of this?” So I sucked it up, made the recipe like the book told me (Except I halved it because I only wanted enough for a single-sized snack) and it tasted great.

Tasted great.

I never said it looked great.

In my efforts to half the recipe, I forgot to half the portion of white chocolate. So as I eagerly attempted to enrobe the milk crumb in white chocolate, I slowly realized it was turning into a wet, sloppy mess.

I still ate it.

I’m eating it right now as I type this post, thank you very much.

That’s one thing about me: if I mess up, you will know about it because I’ll still write about it.

Until my next Milk Bar adventure,

Happy baking,

AW

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Milk Bar Diaries: Part 2, Milk Crumb at Accomodare.

meta

