The Milk Bar Diaries: Part 3, Cornflake-Chocolate-Chip-Marshmallow Cookies

February 7, 2013 § Leave a comment

The day I make something out of the Momofuku Milk Bar cookbook that I don’t like is the day I will buy everyone in the city of Berkeley, CA a steak dinner*.

*This deal is not valid on days that end in the letter y.

Anywho… Today I rushed home after school to make the newest addition to the Milk Bar Diaries series: Cornflake-chocolate-chip-marshmallow cookies.

That was a mouthful.

Before I made these cookies, I did my research. I read horror stories on other food blogs about how the cookies spread too much, the edges burned, they wished they refrigerated them longer, creamed the butter longer, yada yada yada. I said to myself, “Angela, you’re going to make these cookies the best cookies this side of the Rocky Mountains. Cream that butter for at least 10 minutes an refrigerate them for at least 2 hours and you’re good to go, you got this.”

As with any recipe from this lovely cookbook (aka my new favorite thing to read 24/7), there are multiple recipes within the recipe. This one wasn’t too bad in terms of complexity compared with some of the other recipes in the book (the chocolate chip layer cake recipe requires you to make five different components before assembling the thing). It only required me to make one other thing (the cornflake crunch) before I could get to baking the cookie dough.

Christina Tosi simply sees the importance of using the best possible ingredients to make a fantastic dessert, even if that means having to refrigerate/freeze something for a couple before you can even touch it.

So back to the cookies.

Butter/sugar creamed to perfection + mini chocolate chips + cornflake crunch (Cornflakes, milk powder, butter, sugar, etc.) + mini marshmallows = the [awe-inspiring] chocolate chip cornflake cookie

Aka this.

God, I’m so lame.

I’m done with simple cookies. Tosi has me craving some complexity in the things I make and I’m up for the challenge.

Even if that means creaming butter and sugar with a hand mixer for 12 minutes.

Until next time,

Happy baking,

AW

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Milk Bar Diaries: Part 3, Cornflake-Chocolate-Chip-Marshmallow Cookies at Accomodare.

meta

