The “Big Bad” Carrot Cake

March 25, 2013 § Leave a comment

Oh jeez. This carrot cake has probably brought me more stress in the last week than the college admissions process.

Let me start from the beginning.

My friend Peter’s birthday was last week, but because he was out of the country for a school trip, he didn’t get a chance to celebrate his birthday at home with his family. So his lovely mother decided to throw Peter a surprise party the week after he got back and I asked to make the cake.

I couldn’t find a big enough pan, I had to find out what kind of cake he actually liked, I had my friends taste test the frosting, I had to find something to put the enormous thing in. And it all had to remain a secret from Peter.

Making this cake became such an exhausting process that I’m surprised I even have the energy to write this post.

But I did it. And I am so proud.

I used the Milk Bar cookbook to guide me through this process. I chose the recipe for Carrot Cake from the Carrot Layer Cake mega-recipe* and the recipe for Birthday Cake Frosting from the Birthday Layer Cake mega-recipe.

* mega-recipe: new word I just made up for Momofuku recipes that require a bunch of other recipes in order to create the final product

My pictures for this post aren’t the best because the lighting in my kitchen is terrible at night, but please enjoy.

Now I can say I catered a party. Well, kinda.

Happy baking,

AW

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The “Big Bad” Carrot Cake at Accomodare.

meta

