Shrimp Stock

May 9, 2013 § Leave a comment

One of the first dishes I learned how to cook when I was just starting off cooking was shrimp scampi. As a child, I was not at all a fan of tomato sauce (I uses to be extremely picky), so when my mother or father made me pasta, it was always pasta seasoned with garlic & herbs, and always some kind of meat.

So naturally scampi was something I loved.

I had first had it at a restaurant in Honduras during a vacation when I was 9 years old. The garlic was sweet, the sauce was just right, and the shrimp were cooked perfectly and served over rice. I was officially hooked.

But after looking up recipes online, trying, and ultimately failing to match the flavors that I had tasted at the beach restaurant, I was just flat out confused. The garlic didn’t taste right, the lemon was too sour, the sauce was too thin. Bleh.

Now, 8 years later, I finally figured out what I needed.

Shrimp stock.

Shrimp stock is made by taking the shells of shrimp, sautéing them with onions, garlic, and other flavors, and reducing it with water and white wine until all of the flavors are extracted into a beautiful liquid that can be used in a variety of dishes.

Served over pasta, it’s divine. Here’s the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • the shells from about 12 shrimp
  • about 1/3 of an onion, roughly chopped
  • 1 tbs canola oil
  • 6 cloves of garlic, roughly chopped
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • whichever herbs you like (optional)
  1. Heat the oil over medium heat in a sauce pan. Add onions and cook for about 4 minutes.
  2. Add the garlic and cook for about 1 minute.
  3. Add the shrimp shells and sauté with the onions and garlic. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  4. After the shells are pink (about 2 minutes), add the water and white wine. Stir together and sprinkle with herbs.
  5. Cover and cook for about 15-18 minutes, until the liquid is reduced by about half.
  6. Pour over a colander and into a container, collecting as much liquid as possible.
  7. Serve with pasta, use it in soups, etc. Enjoy.

Happy cooking,

AW

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Shrimp Stock at Accomodare.

meta

